top of page

Simple tips for Surviving the Pandemic




With the recent increase in isolation and lockdown due to the spread of the Covid 19 virus, people all over the world have gone into panic mode. I just want to start by saying that buying toilet paper in bulk is not necessary, Australia did this because of the huge fire outbreak they had as well as limited import facilities. We have enough toilet paper guys, there are factories in South Africa that produce toilet paper, we are not going to run out anytime soon.


This post is for all the germaphobes who are paranoid about any and everything they touch when leaving their isolation bubble.



I started keeping a bottle of sanitizer in my car as well as a pack of wet wipes. When I need to go to the shops or put petrol in my car, I think about how many people have touched the card machine I'll be using to pay or whether or not the people that I interact with, are as responsible about their hygiene as I am.

So what I do is, I squish a wet wipe into a ball and squirt some sanitizer into/onto the wet wipe. If I've put too much on, I just grab another wipe and wrap it around the initial wipe, and squeeze, so it absorbs the excess sanitizer. Whether I want to wipe my car keys after the petrol attendant has filled up my car, or I don't want to touch a door handle or I just want to wipe my hands after a general shopping trip, these DIY wipes have saved my sanity!


I know this post will be useful to someone out there, especially paranoid mommy's!


You can also empty out old spray bottles or buy some to put this sanitizer into. My mom emptied out an old Glade Air Freshner spirits bottle and put this sanitizer into it, and now it's standing on the kitchen counter for easy access. I wasn't able to find spray bottles, so I used an old dish drops squirt bottle that was in our kitchen cupboard. This is the one I keep in my car now, with the wet wipes, and it's so convenient and easy to use whenever I have to leave the house.



Ackermans Pharmacy sells these sanitizers in 200ml bottles and 500ml bottles, they are 70% alcohol and can be used on surfaces as well. The 500ml is R70.


I hope you enjoyed my first blog! This is quite exciting for me as I am pretty much just winging it lol. Be safe and stay hygienic!

49 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page